Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Statutes of Canada Distribution Direction (SI/83-207)

Regulations are current to 2024-05-28


  • 1 Governor General

  • 2 Lieutenant Governors of the Provinces

  • 3 Speaker of the Senate

  • 4 Speaker of the House of Commons

  • 5 Prime Minister

  • 6 Leader of the Opposition in the Senate

  • 7 Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons

  • 8 Ministers of the Government of Canada

  • 9 Members of the Parliament of Canada not otherwise included on this list

  • 10 Members of the judiciary of Canada, including provincial court judges and magistrates

  • 11 Attorneys General, Ministers of Justice and Solicitors General of the Governments of the Provinces

  • 12 Chief or senior legislative counsel of each Province

  • 13 Chief librarians of court houses in Canada

  • 14 Chief librarians of law schools in Canada

  • 15 Members and officials of the Government of any foreign country and persons holding positions in universities and other institutions in that country if

    • (a) reciprocal arrangements exist for similar distribution without charge in Canada; or

    • (b) the Minister of Justice, the Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Librarian and Archivist of Canada or the Parliamentary Librarian recommend the free distribution.

  • 2004, c. 11, s. 52

Date modified: