Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Canadian Human Rights Act

Version of section 26 from 2002-12-31 to 2019-07-10:

Marginal note:Commission established

  •  (1) A commission is hereby established to be known as the Canadian Human Rights Commission, in this Part and Part III referred to as the “Commission”, consisting of a Chief Commissioner, a Deputy Chief Commissioner and not less than three or more than six other members, to be appointed by the Governor in Council.

  • Marginal note:Members

    (2) The Chief Commissioner and Deputy Chief Commissioner are full-time members of the Commission and the other members may be appointed as full-time or part-time members of the Commission.

  • Marginal note:Term of appointment

    (3) Each full-time member of the Commission may be appointed for a term not exceeding seven years and each part-time member may be appointed for a term not exceeding three years.

  • Marginal note:Tenure

    (4) Each member of the Commission holds office during good behaviour but may be removed by the Governor in Council on address of the Senate and House of Commons.

  • Marginal note:Re-appointment

    (5) A member of the Commission is eligible to be re-appointed in the same or another capacity.

  • 1976-77, c. 33, s. 21

Date modified: