Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Immigration and Refugee Protection Act

Version of section 2 from 2012-06-28 to 2012-06-28:

Marginal note:Definitions

  •  (1) The definitions in this subsection apply in this Act.



    Board means the Immigration and Refugee Board, which consists of the Refugee Protection Division, Refugee Appeal Division, Immigration Division and Immigration Appeal Division. (Commission)

    Convention Against Torture

    Convention contre la torture

    Convention Against Torture means the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, signed at New York on December 10, 1984. Article 1 of the Convention Against Torture is set out in the schedule. (Convention contre la torture)

    designated foreign national

    étranger désigné

    designated foreign national has the meaning assigned by subsection 20.1(2). (étranger désigné)

    foreign national


    foreign national means a person who is not a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident, and includes a stateless person. (étranger)

    permanent resident

    résident permanent

    permanent resident means a person who has acquired permanent resident status and has not subsequently lost that status under section 46. (résident permanent)

    Refugee Convention

    Convention sur les réfugiés

    Refugee Convention means the United Nations Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees, signed at Geneva on July 28, 1951, and the Protocol to that Convention, signed at New York on January 31, 1967. Sections E and F of Article 1 of the Refugee Convention are set out in the schedule. (Convention sur les réfugiés)

  • Marginal note:Act includes regulations

    (2) Unless otherwise indicated, references in this Act to “this Act” include regulations made under it.

  • 2001, c. 27, s. 2
  • 2012, c. 17, s. 2

Date modified: