Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Resources Accord Implementation Act

Version of section 12 from 2002-12-31 to 2014-12-30:

Marginal note:Term of office of Board members

  •  (1) Subject to subsection (2), each member of the Board, including the Chairman, shall be appointed for a term of six years.

  • Marginal note:Terms of first members

    (2) The first two members of the Board, other than the Chairman, to be appointed by each government shall be appointed for terms of four and five years, respectively.

  • Marginal note:Re-appointment

    (3) On the expiration of a term of office, the Chairman or a member of the Board is eligible for re-appointment for one or more further terms.

  • Marginal note:Good behaviour appointments for members who are not public servants

    (4) Any member of the Board who is not a public servant holds office during good behaviour, but may be removed for cause

    • (a) where the member is appointed by either government, by that government; or

    • (b) where the member is appointed by both governments, by both governments.

  • Marginal note:Appointments of public servants during pleasure

    (5) Any member of the Board who is a public servant holds office during pleasure.

Date modified: